Castle Stuart Golf Club

Castle Stuart Monday 28th April 2014

A brilliant day at Castle Stuart, with the temperature reaching the late teens, rounded off qualifying for The Golf Club Secretary – 18th Open Championship.

The Castle Stuart Golf Links is a very special place to play the game we all love. It has probably the best putting surfaces in the UK (in no small part due to the skills of Course Manager, Chris Haspell), it has some of the most stunning views and offers the visitor exceptional service and comfort, from the welcome from Malcolm and Keith to the quality of the sticky toffee pudding.

We are very grateful to Stuart McColm, General Manager, for giving us the opportunity to stage our event at Castle Stuart, on what turned out to be the best day of the year to date. ALL who attended, from all parts of the country, were fulsome in their praise for their experience and left determined to spread the Castle Stuart gospel. If you have not yet visited – do so as soon as possible!

The winner on the day, with an excellent score of 35 pts, from the challenging white tees, was John Doyle (9) Old Ranfurly, a new boy to the Championship. Runner up in the qualifying competition and also making his Championship debut, was Ian Chamberlain (7) Frinton’s Hon. Treasurer with 34 pts, the final qualifying place going to Dennis Wright (5) Penrith with 33 pts. Our congratulations to them for playing so well.

Our support team were in strong evidence and they too produced some fine scoring. Eagle’s Eddie Comerford (3) had the best score of the day with 36 pts. Matt Shaw (18) Tee off times scored 35 pts, whilst The GCS’s Michael Coffey and Eagle’s Dean Poynter both recorded 34 pts. Fergus Bissett represented Golf Monthly, Kneale Diamond Rain Bird. We thank all our supporters for their efforts during this the 18th campaign and we look forward to meeting and greeting the Finalists at Trevose and St Enodoc in three weeks time.

Eddie Comerford (3) Eagle 36 pts
Matt Shaw (18) Teeofftimes 35 pts
John Doyle (9) Old Ranfurly 35 pts winner and qualifier
Michael Coffey (12) The GCS 34pts
Ian Chamberlain (7) Frinton 34 pts qualifier
Alan Davey (6) Pyecombe 34 pts
Dean Poynter (9) Eagle 34 pts
Dennis Wright (5) Penrith 33 pts qualifier
Mick Wain (12) Matlock 32 pts
Fergus Bissett (3) Golf Monthly 32 pts
Bob De Rose (12) Dunfermline 30 pts
David Owen (8) Poulton Park 30 pts
John Holmes (5) Crowborough Beacon 30 pts
Julian Todd (10) 30 pts
Neill Ellice (12) Ipswich 28 pts
Stephen Boustead (17) Halifax West End 27 pts
Greg Waugh (7) Ponteland 27 pts
Andrew Cumming (6) Pitreavie 27 pts
Kneale Diamond (15) Rain Bird 27 pts
Brian Lever (10) Great Yarmouth 26 pts
Other 25 or less