Sheringham GC Thursday 11th October 2012

Dry at last! Sheringham... water, water everywhere, together with the most spectacular views, but none fell on us. The pre-tournament ‘prayer’ meeting at No. 10, Augusta Street, Sheringham, the previous evening did the trick and we are grateful for the combined efforts of Messrs Tawell, Ruscoe, Ellice, and Vince for their sterling efforts, leaving no cork unopened and thus ensuring a fine day.

Conditions on the undulating links were fine and blustery. Therefore, it was no surprise that on this occasion the cream rose to the top. The winner was Mike Verhelst (6) Bury St. Edmunds on 35pts, well clear of two notable mentions Chris O’Hagan (2) Clubview, 32pts and Iain Macpherson (7) Rain Bird with 31pts, the other two prize winners and qualifiers for the final, both on 31pts were host, Neal Milton (5), qualifying for his Final (and tie!) and Martin Gillett (5) Hobbs Cross.

Sheringham must be one of the most scenic, as well as challenging links; not only were we treated to a sunny sea vista, but the steam train and even the electric train, which arrived inconveniently at the top of one backswing on the 17th tee. Those that were not there (we had one of the smallest fields on record) missed a complete treat.

Neal Milton’s team looked after us wonderfully well and we would love to return and point out to the many what they missed. Our thanks go to the Club, its members and Committee for their kindness in allowing us to stage such an enjoyable event over their links.

The support Team was once again led by Philip Vince of Majestic Crystal, dispensing largesse on the 10th and whose panama was a sight for sore eyes – his. Chris O’Hagan attended to the scoring and his local shopping exploits for shirt, tie and birthday cards are already stuff of legend… Iain Macpherson of RainBird introduced us to the world of self-funding electricity for Clubs, via their own turbine(s), surely the renewable way forward for all Clubs, with wind, to go? Nathan Payne of TeeOffTimes rounded off the support. As always our thanks to all of the supporters, without whom the Championaship would not be the success it is.