The Finals Trevose and St Enodoc

The ‘weekend’ of the Final of The Golf Club Secretary – 18th Open Championship was blessed with warm and mainly sunny conditions with both Trevose and St Enodoc perfectly presented for our delight and enjoyment.

Sunday afternoon’s foursomes (low/high handicaps) was won by our Trevose ‘host’ Nick Gammon (1) and the doughty Michael Morley (20), Hadden Hill with 38pts. Michael confirmed that it was his chipping and putting that saw them to such a score! Runners up were Tony Flood, former secretary of North Berwick, a local late replacement, and Eddie Comerford of Eagle, receiving 10 strokes, with 36pts. Trevose was at its best, beautifully presented and sparkling in the sunshine.

Dining in the clubhouse on Sunday evening was a delight (see Flickr), the wine arrangements working particularly well, with three rounds of Heads and Tails producing £300 for the local Air Ambulance.

We didn’t actually lose anyone the following morning on the 40 minute drive from Trevose to Rock and St Enodoc, but one or two ran it very close! Again, we were blessed with dry and often sunny weather, but off the white tees St Enodoc proved a stern test for the entire field.

Bill Dunn (14) Radcliffe on Trent with 35pts won on countback and was pronounced Champion Golfer of the Year. Patrick Rahme (2) All Square 35pts was runner up again on countback from Martin Gillett (5) Hobbs Cross, with Eddie Comerford (3) Eagle next on 34pts. Gary Peddie (7) Parkstone with 34pts was the final prize winner.

We are indebted to the Gammon family at Trevose and to host secretary Tuck Clagett and the members of St Enodoc for playing host to the 18th Open Championship Final and doing so with tremendous style and efficiency, which everyone admired and appreciated. With luck and understanding we shall return?

Our thanks go to all our supporters, who throughout the 18th campaign have followed us up and down the length and breadth of the United Kingdom . To Philip Vince of Majestic Crystal for wonderful prize tables and tons of calories, to Phil McInley of Eagle, not forgetting Eddie and Dean (and Paul Noble), for entry forms, scorecards and bag tags, to Barry Gibbs of C C V Sports & Leisure, to Michael Harris and Jezz Ellwood of Golf Monthly, to Kevin Evans of Clubview and Catherine Hanrahan of Jonas/Clubminder for perfect scoring, to Richard Barker and Rob Corcoran of Teeofftimes, to Kneale Diamond, and previously Iain MacPherson, of Rain Bird. Thankfully we shall see most of them again in the autumn.