West Lancashire GC – 14th October 2013

On a wet and windy Monday morning, many competitors were surprised to hear that the North West was forecast to have the best conditions in the Country.

Combined with horrendous traffic on the M6, arrival at West Lancs was an endurance test for many. Indeed one competitor eventually turned round after three hours at the wheel and made his way back to Cumbria.

As result, tee off times largely became a first come, first served, matter. Nonetheless the continuous rain abated, although the wind declined to do so, the rain being confined to a few heavy showers during the round.

Dave Sanders (8) Reddish Vale mastered the difficult conditions beautifully, not only did he score an excellent 39pts, but also recorded his third hole in one (at the third) of 2013 (his only other being over 20 years ago). Runner-up was Dai Davies (7) Abersoch, who had previously qualified at Aberdovey. Lance Quantrill (13) came third with 33pts. Dean Poynter (9) Eagle scored 32pts, ahead of Mike Cross (18) Oakdale on count-back, who also qualified for the Final at St Enodoc next May. Alan Davey (6) Pyecombe, also a previous qualifier, scored 31pts, whilst the much travelled Past Champion, Neill Ellice (11) Ipswich, after a year of enduring hip operations, was on 30pts and bagged the last qualifying place for yet another Final appearance.
Our thanks go to our host Stewart King, his Captain and Committee, for once again allowing us to enjoy this superb links, also to the Club’s staff and Stewardess, lunch being particularly enjoyable.

Our Supporters we’re out in force – Dean Poynter of Eagle has already been mentioned. Effervescent Philip Vince – Majestic Crystal, was in fine chocolate dispensing form. Stefanie Mainstone of Jonas and Chris O’Hagan of ClubView saw to the scoring/results. We also welcomed TeeoffTimes’s Duncan Rougvie and look forward to seeing him again, both on and off the course. Finally we had the pleasure of Rain Bird’s Iain MacPherson’s company and we look forward to seeing again in the New Year.